Cutscenes, not feature films

As of late I’ve been trying to play more video games.  I’ve always had an interest in them, but I could never find time for them that wasn’t being spent knitting or drawing.  Since it’s too hot to be working with fiber and I am now actually drawing with purpose, and am therefore procrastinating, video games are kind of perfect. I’ve been watching a number of Let’s Plays.  I’m watching anything I can’t actually play.  Doing this triggers a bit of nostalgia. Part of that is because of the games being played, but partly because that’s what I did as a kid. I watched the boys play their games and got to watch the game unfold without touching the controls. I retroactively wish I had insisted they let me play or had an interest in playing alone.  To this day I rarely play because I like having someone else in the room with me. Anyway, the LPs recreate that community experience as best as possible.  Since I don’t have anyone to watch anymore, these are a nice fit.

The real way I started to incorporate video games into my life was actually playing them.  I dove back into playing White Knight Chronicles after a rage quit over a year ago.  I had just started to adventure and my teammates just stopped attacking. No matter what I changed in the menu I just couldn’t get them to attack and because of that I died quite frequently.  After that I had left it for a long time.  Eventually, the Significant Otter noticed that I had pushed a thumbstick down by mistake and no amount of menu-changing would alter the thumbstick selection.  After it was fixed, I was still pissed at the game and didn’t pick it up again until last week.

Now that I have started it again the only time I feel like hurling the controller at the screen is during the cutscenes.  I’m not sure how familiar everyone is with the game, but it’s not too complex. It’s an RPG that has a group of people travel everywhere to rescue a princess, and there are enormous knights in it.  It’s fun. It doesn’t seem too special to me, but I’m not exactly experienced with games so I’m not sure how to compare it.  The battle system seems easy enough without being boring and running around is enjoyable.  The fact that some enemies insist on you battling them is a nuisance, but it’s not the worst thing.  The worst thing are the cutscenes that take an eternity to end.  I know that they are there to tell a story, but sometimes it’s just too much.  I don’t want to watch the princess and the hero dance around on a lake, I want to smash a giant’s head in with my axe.

Right now I’m not too far into the game.  I hope it stays enjoyable and I really want to try out the multiplayer in the GeoNet.  I haven’t touched that very much, but I hope it will be fun.  It was one of the reasons I bought the game, so I could play with the Significant Otter online when we weren’t spending time together.  Even if it turns out to be not so good, then at least the main game is still worth playing.  The only way the game could be rendered worthless would be a crap ending. The bosses are pretty good and the game is fine, but a bad ending would render it not worth playing.  Fortunately, I’m going to assume that won’t be the case because it was recommended as opposed to me just picking it up.

I’m hoping to continue to play games consistently.  There are a few that are coming out soon that I want an excuse to play. I can’t buy new, shiny things until I play what I have, right?

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

