Trollin’

Yesterday was the historic day where I received my first hate comment. I’m so proud of the internet for being the pinnacle of originality.

I thought I’d take this as a sign to talk about actually being a female and putting something on public display.  It’s not easy to play games, be an artist, or write a blog and be female. Our mere existence seems to be a problem.  We’re called out and the message is always either “fuck you” or “fuck me.” The wonderful people at Fat, Ugly, or Slutty show this difficulty in the gaming world. Unfounded hostility happens more often than it should. Because traditionally male dominated fields are being used by everybody, they like to belittle anyone else on the gender spectrum. Not all men are like this, but men are the ones who bully most often.  Women do, too, and it’s mostly in an effort to put down other women so that the bully is seen as “one of the guys” and gets an Honorary Man badge. This needs to stop because it just hurts everyone.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do about this lovely waste of memory space.  I know that it’s the internet and shit happens, so I’m not taking it too personally. I’m just going to chalk it up to that individual being jealous I completed the Pokedex and he/she didn’t. I’ve seen braver cuccos. I’m just sorry they didn’t have the guts to leave a real name or email address so I could ask for constructive criticism.  I could even help them with correcting their grammar and fleshing out ideas! Wins all around.

I’m just trying to nip this in the bud.  I’m glad this is only my first taste of this nonsense, and it’s given me an opportunity to speak out. It happens to everyone, but that doesn’t mean we should ignore it.  I came across a video today that sums up my feelings on the subject.

Ill Doctrine: All These Sexist Gamer Dudes Are Some Shook Ones from ANIMALNewYork.com on Vimeo.

I know that bringing this up is probably going to bring a lot more nastiness. Bring it on, man. I know I’m not the best, but I’m ever improving. I’m not about to let some anonymous jerk stop me.

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trollin’

  1. Comire says:

    It’s a good point, and an opinion shared by many including myself. Undeserved hate isn’t nice, funny or deserves to be entertained.

    Now I hope this doesn’t undermine your argument but I was reminded of this video, and you might find it funny.

    • I appreciate the support.I really don’t like entertaining it, but sometimes you have to say something. Sometimes it looks like what you posted (which did give me a chuckle, thanks). I’m anti-bullying all around so I don’t know if it’s the most effective thing, but it still made me laugh. It’s not the worst way to stand your ground. A great way I’ve heard is if you play a healer, and if a person refuses to stop spewing hate, that the healer should just inform that player that they will no longer heal them until they stop. I’m told it works like a charm, but since I don’t play online very much I can’t speak to it from personal experience.

      • Comire says:

        Cleric-blocking? Sounds interesting. As long as that doesn’t mean steadily sectioning off our female gamers to the comparatively more boring role, then why not. I don’t know about you but the right to plant a bullet/sword between someones eyes should be gender neutral.

      • Oh, I agree! I’m usually in a more aggressive role in most games I play with a class option. My boyfriend likes healing. It’s just a tool for someone to use if they play Cleric. I’d never say all female gamers should abandon what they like to play because that’s silly. I’m sure there are creative ways in game for any class to curb all kinds of hate talk. I just don’t have enough experience to know about it.

Leave a Reply

