Why yes, I am a Pokemon master.

So, Pokemon.  I beat the living hell out of my Pokemon Black version.  I even completed the national dex and raised my team to level 100.  Want to take a wild guess as to how long I’ve played in total? 327 hours and 38 minutes.  That is a personal record for time spent on a single game. As I said, I beat the hell out of it.  This was my first Pokemon game in almost 10 years and man was it great. It was like slipping into an old pair of jeans.

Creating a team was a bit rough going.  There was a lot of trial and error going on. I didn’t have my full team until I caught a Deino near the end, but let’s start at the beginning. As my starter I chose an Oshawott.  This would not have been my first choice, but for reasons I’ve already explained there it is.  I named my Oshawott Rory after the companion on Doctor Who.  When I started breeding them, every single one of them was named Rory. I thought that this was hilarious, but I digress.

My permanent team consisted of a Leavanny named Rosie, a Carracosta named Crush, a Stunfisk named Frank, a Heatmor named Scroop, a Mandibuzz named Batttin, and a Hydreigon named Dolak.  I know that the team has some gaping holes in both its defenses and attacks, but it’s my first team in years and I’m determined to keep it that way.  The next batch will be a little more thought out.  All my choices were pretty arbitrary. I tried to use a bunch of different Pokemon before I got to this team.  Beartic seemed promising, but failed to deliver. I used a Stoutland for a long time because I wasn’t happy with anything else or the boyfriend had already used it.  Since he had both games by the time I had one it made things a little difficult. I tried to use a Sigilyph so that I could fly, but that was real temporary.  I’m really happy with my choices, though.  Some people look at the Hydreigon in my party and give me a dirty look, but I don’t care.  I didn’t choose it because of its power or whatever.  I just like dinosaurs.  I could probably make an entire team of dinosaurs and be perfectly content.

Playing through was fine. The story was okay I suppose and the areas allowed a lot of freedom.  Most of the time that I logged was in the GTS. I traded my little heart out and tried to get as much as I could on my own.  I did pretty well. I wouldn’t have done it if it weren’t for the Significant Otter.  He helped a bit and we worked very hard together to complete the dex.  We did it, though. It kept me pretty occupied during my commute and time between classes.  I’d do it again.  I hope the next version comes out in the next few years. I know I shouldn’t hold my breath, but now that I’ve been brought back, I don’t want to stop.

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

