Bookworms don’t have anything on me

I was a crazy kid.  I kind of grew up to be a crazy person.  One of my mother’s favourite things to tell people while I was growing up was how much I liked to read.  She’d tell strangers that I’d keep a stack of books near the head of my bed and would wake up and start reading immediately.  She generally exaggerates quite a bit, but this story wasn’t too far from the truth.  To this day I keep books around my bed so that I can always reach for one if I want.  If allowed the time, I can finish a book in a day.  I don’t care what book it is, I can probably finish it before sundown given the chance. As a kid I always wondered why Belle was ridiculed for reading all the time.  It didn’t make sense to me how the town had a bookstore, but reading was scandalous. Also the sheep eating the corner of the page always made me furious, but I digress.

I’ll read damn near anything.  I couldn’t read enough as a kid. I’d read by the streetlights at night when I had to put my lights out.  My mother blames this habit for my need for glasses.  It clearly has nothing to do with the fact that everyone else in the family has glasses for one reason or another.  I still read in the dark and get yelled at by various people.  I guess I just can’t break old habits.  Anyway, I read whatever I can get my hands on.  I’ve been given books that I’ve read simply because they were gifts.

There are very few things I will refuse to read.  On the same page, there are a lot of classics that I haven’t managed to get my paws on.  I’m ever so slowly whittling down everything by Shakespeare. I want to finish that before I die, same with everything by Lewis Carroll and Poe. I want to concentrate on these three mostly because I have the complete works, and I should really stop reading a little bit and putting the book down.  That nonsense has to stop.  There are so many books that I need to read and just haven’t gotten around to it.

That being said, want to see my “to read” pile?

I like tribbles.I clearly have a problem.

I know in my heart of hearts that I will never learn German.

Sometimes I think I'm impressive

A few things I should mention; yes I have a homemade tribble, yes I have a lot of Doctor Who books, no this is not everything. I have so much to read and so little time to do it in. Frankly, this pile is a little small compared to what is used to be. The stack to the  in the bottom pic is mostly knitting patterns, if you were curious. They are never leaving that spot.  As for everything else, I just hope a bomb drops and I’m in a bank safe during that time so I can be left alone with my books.  I’m just glad I don’t need bifocals.

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

