A shift

I’m finding that going all out about one nerd property feels silly.  I’d much sooner just talk about the great nerdy fun that I’ve had and have.  I feel like I’m pointing to myself and yelling “Look at me! I’m a huge nerd! Just look at all these different things I’m into, it’s proof I’m a hardcore geek.”  I don’t want to feel like that. Minutiae and passions is what it’s all about.  It’s being unbelievably giddy that Rory punches Hitler in the face or having a good time picking on Shatner.  It’s thinking up funny science or literary based pick-up lines to use at bars. Sure, some geeks are big picture people, but almost everyone gets caught up in “that one episode” or their favourite campaign they’ve ever played.

With that said, I’ll do a few more big, overarching posts for some big name geek properties.  The big ones in my book are Monty Python, D&D, and Disney. You may be wondering about Star Wars.  The thing about that is I’ve never actually seen any of the movies all the way through, if at all.  I know this is blasphemy, but I never saw it when I was a kid and never bothered as a teen.  It’s one of those things that never really came up.  Please stop making that face, it’ll stick like that forever if you keep gawking.  I’ll watch it eventually, and there will be a great fanfare.  Besides this, I’m going to go for little moments and realizations.  They are just as important as the huge ideas.

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

