Allons-y

If you haven’t already guessed, I am a huge fan of the long running television show Doctor Who.  If you know me you are sick of hearing this.  I’m sorry but this is necessary.  I discovered it on my own, sort of.  My parents were casual watchers when it was still on its first run.  My father’s favourite was always Tom Baker, no surprise here.  I’m actually jealous that they got to watch those episodes when they were new. Oh, well. David Tennant was my first Doctor and must be my favourite, it’s the law.  Your first Doctor is more often than not your favourite Doctor.  I’m sorry, where are my manners? For those of you who are not familiar with the show, it’s pretty simple.  An alien that looks human uses his spaceship called a TARDIS to fly around time and space.  This man is called the Doctor and is a timelord.  The timelords regenerate their bodies to get around death and the actors leaving the show at any given time.  The Doctor picks up companions from everywhere/everywhen and takes then with for adventures.  So far there has been 11 Doctors and boatloads of companions.  If you want to know the nitty-gritty, ask or use the search engine of your choice.

Anyway, my first and favourite Doctor is the 10th.  My very first episode was School Reunion.  This is interesting because that episode features a companion from both the 3rd and 4th Doctors’ runs, Sarah Jane Smith.  The story isn’t the best of the season, aliens taking over an elementary school to use the creativity of a child’s mind to hack the universe, but it was enough to catch my attention.  When I like something I usually jump in with both feet and go with it.  Yes this has gotten me in a bit of trouble a few times, but it usually makes me a lifelong fan of whatever I choose.  So, I watched episodes, learned quotes, learned trivia, and knitted my tremendous scarf.  I try not to half-ass my love for the media of my choosing.  Just wait until I post the not-nerdy-but-the-way-I-approach-it-is-pretty-nerdy epic of my love for The Beatles.  I’ve frightened off people because of my prattling.

I keep getting sidetracked, sorry.  My Doctor is the 10th.  He’s insane and delightful, a bit moody though.  The latest Doctor has some big shoes to fill, but I think he’s been doing a splendid job.  I like him because I can.  He’s pleasantly quirky and not too heavy handed.  I can’t wait for the new season to start in a few weeks.  It should be a blast.  Some things seem a little bizarre, but I’m not going to count it out just yet.  I’m really looking forward to the episode written by Neil Gaiman.  He’s pretty fantastic as a writer and a human, or at least to my understanding he’s a good person.  He certainly has a sense of humour.

I wanted my Significant Otter to watch the show, I knew it was up his alley.  I started him with the the 9th Doctor.  I figured he should see everything, not just my favourite.  Of course, this meant that his favourite would not match up with mine.  The only trial I had was getting past the first episode.  It’s so silly to be attacked by mannequins.  The whole episode was not on par with the rest of the series.  Once we got through that it was smooth sailing. Now we giggle with mad delight together over little references and nuances.  It’s good fun, really.

I wanted to get this post up before April 23 because that’s when the new episodes are going to start airing.  I would like to give my opinions of them after seeing them.  I’m sure there will be spoilers.  I just wanted to make sure that everyone understood the gravity of my love before I started to look at individual episodes.

About awildnerdgirlhasappeared

I like to art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

